Progesterone shots

So we have been blessed we have gotten pregnant after 9 years of TTC! However the shots are not done! I am writing this because I keep hearing horrible stories of everyone’s experiences with progesterone oil, and quite honestly my experience with the shots have been a walk in the park. Here is why:

1. I am allergic to sesameseed oil, so they switched us to olive oil instead. Honestly I think Olive oil is less thick so ask for olive if you can.

2. Ask for needle gauge 23, trust me it is thick enough to allow the oil to come out without a problem. Why suffer with a thicker needle if it’s not needed! I have been using 23 (started with 25 but it would take forever for the oil to come out). 

3. Depending on your weight ask if you can use a 1″ needle as opposed to 1 1/2″. It makes a difference! I am using 23 gauge 1″ without a problem.

4. If your husband is applying the injeccion, PLEASE ask him to slap the area first! You will not feel a thing! I am not kidding! These shots have been a breeze because of our technique. It doesn’t have to be a hard spank, just enough to numb the area a bit. My husband is an expert now! 

5. Finally after the shot is applied, he puts on the tiny bandaid and uses his palm to massage the area in circles for several minutes. Not only does it feel great, it ensures the oil gets absorbed evenly without causing painful bumps.

So there you go, I hope whoever is doing their shots now is not having too much trouble with them. 

Leave a comment